Meet Lugene Rosen, Coordinator of Brandman University Library Services

Lugene is holding World War Z by Max Brooks

Lugene is holding World War Z by Max Brooks

Hello, Brandman! My name is Lugene Rosen, and I am the Coordinator of Brandman University Library Services. I know that you are probably wondering what that means, so the best explanation of what I do is everything that needs to be done to ensure that you, our Brandman patrons, get the support that you need. I assist patrons with any library-related questions they might have, create videos to help out distance learners, give library instruction sessions (in person or via Adobe Connect), look for ways to make our website a better user experience, and generally, take on any task needed to make the Library more accessible for Brandman patrons.

When we decided to pose holding a favorite book, my decision was easy: World War Z by Max Brooks. As a zombie enthusiast, I had already devoured his first book The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead. When WWZ was released, I was giddy as a schoolgirl. I love the book on many different levels. First of all. . .zombies. Who wouldn’t love a book about the near extinction of the human race at the hands of flesh-eating hordes of the undead? But my love for the book goes deeper and touches upon my interest in the intersection between popular culture and scholarly research. From a literary standpoint, Brooks does something that many writers aspire to, but few master. Each story within the book is told by a different character, and his mastery of individual voices and world views make it difficult to believe that they were written by the same author. Brooks also presents a skillful rendering of the history of this alternate reality. His before, during, and after the apocalypse are wonderful examples of how details and consistency can build a sense of place that engenders the willing suspension of disbelief that mark a successful work of fiction. Finally, the book has several recurring characters that I truly cared about. In short, I laughed. I cried. I fell in love all over again. With zombies.

Leave a Reply

