Something To Think About: Sandra Cisneros

Thorma Daydreaming in the Fields
János Thorma [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

I was a terrible student. Still, I managed to get into college, but my daydreaming threatened to sabotage me. I used behavior modification to break the cycle. I started by setting an arbitrary time limit on studying: for every 15 minutes of study, I’d allow myself an hour of daydreaming. I set the alarm.
–Sandra Cisneros

For Cisneros, her reward for studying was an hour of daydreaming. How do you reward yourself after time spent hitting the books?

Leave a Reply

