By Aaron Pruzaniec (Flickr) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
Brandman has resolved the student logon issue, and the Leatherby Libraries is open and ready for your questions. If you need some assistance with your final project, please know that your Brandman librarians are here to help.
Logon!
.jpg)
By Howard Lake from Colchester, UK (Clock out of service sign) [CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
We’re sorry. Currently, we are experiencing an interruption in access to e-books and databases for Brandman students. We do not have an estimated time when service will be restored; however, the issue has been escalated to the highest priority.
If you have any questions or need further assistance, please contact a librarian. We will keep you informed as we know more.
By The Central Intelligence Agency [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
Do you need company information? Try Mergent Online.
Mergent Online provides United States public and international company data, including histories, competitors, executive biographies, recent and historic news, financials spanning up to 15 years (e.g. balance sheets, income statements, profitability ratios, etc.), and more. There is an option to create customized company reports and convert to PDF, Word, Excel, or HTML. International industry reports by region. Statistical country data and country maps. Access 10,000 active and 5,000 inactive U.S. public companies and 17,000 active international companies.
Company details include synopsis, highlights, history, subsidiaries, capital stock, business segments, executives, company financials, filings, news, and competitors.
You can connect to Mergent Online from the Business & Economics Guide Databases tab. If you need assistance accessing this great database, ask a librarian.
.jpg)
By Birmingham Museums Trust (Birmingham Museums Trust) [CC BY-SA 4.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
For those of you who have tried to find the Hoover’s database, please note that the name has changed to Mergent Intellect. You still have access to all of the great company information that Hoover’s provided, just under a new name.
From the Business & Economics Guide Databases tab, you will find Mergent Intellect in the Business & Economics section.
If you need further assistance finding your old friend Hoover’s, please contact a librarian.
By Diego Grez (Own work Transferred from en.wikinews) [CC BY-SA 2.5 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
Huzzah! You made it through the first week of this term. Now, it’s already time to think about the Signature Assignment. Perhaps, you are writing a paper on a literary topic and need to search for literary criticism. Perhaps, you are required to use at least 5 recent sources. Perhaps, the references must come from peer reviewed journals. So you might be asking yourself, “How do I start my research?”
Finding Articles Video Tutorial
Not to worry. Discover! search has come to rescue! The Discover! search platform is a single interface to locate books, articles, and more on your topic since it cross-searches the library’s catalog as well as the majority of the library’s online databases (for articles). You can limit your results by material type for peer-reviewed journal articles, by a specific publication date range, and more! Watch the video to learn how to use the Discover! search as a starting point for locating research articles.
By Wilson Afonso from Sydney, Australia (Just browsing Uploaded by JohnnyMrNinja) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
Huzzah! You made it through the second week of this term. Now, it’s already time to think about the Signature Assignment. Perhaps, you are writing a paper on a literary topic and need to search for literary criticism. Perhaps, you are required to use at least 5 recent sources. Perhaps, the references must come from peer reviewed journals. So you might be asking yourself, “How do I start my research?”
Finding Articles Video Tutorial
Not to worry. Discover! search has come to rescue! The Discover! search platform is a single interface to locate books, articles, and more on your topic since it cross-searches the library’s catalog as well as the majority of the library’s online databases (for articles). You can limit your results by material type for peer-reviewed journal articles, by a specific publication date range, and more! Watch the video to learn how to use the Discover! search as a starting point for locating research articles.
By Wilson Afonso from Sydney, Australia (Just browsing Uploaded by JohnnyMrNinja) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
Huzzah! You made it through the second week of this term. Now, it’s already time to think about the Signature Assignment. Perhaps, you are writing a paper on a literary topic and need to search for literary criticism. Perhaps, you are required to use at least 5 recent sources. Perhaps, the references must come from peer reviewed journals. So you might be asking yourself, “How do I start my research?”
Finding Articles Video Tutorial
Not to worry. Discover! search has come to rescue! The Discover! search platform is a single interface to locate books, articles, and more on your topic since it cross-searches the library’s catalog as well as the majority of the library’s online databases (for articles). You can limit your results by material type for peer-reviewed journal articles, by a specific publication date range, and more! Watch the video to learn how to use the Discover! search as a starting point for locating research articles.
Whether you are a medical student in need of credible textbooks or patient case files in the field, a clinician looking for quick diagnosis and treatment information, or a patient searching for drug information, AccessMedicine provides various types of resources to suit different users’ needs!
Some other tools include:
AccessMedicine provides full text search capability and retrieves available contents from the entire site. Its responsive web design is visually optimized on mobile and tablet devices as well.
Note that some features require creating a MyAccess personal account to gain full functionality. As always, Ask a Librarian if you need further assistance!
By Dreysacz at German Wikipedia (Original text: de:Benutzer:Dreysacz) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
Hoover’s Premium Online
Here is a list of some of the great features of Hoovers Premium Online.
Profiles of 14 million U.S and international companies
In-depth coverage of 43,000 companies Reports for 600 industries
Company Information
Industry Information
All this, and you can customize company reports. What a fantastic database! You can access Hoovers from the Business and Economics Research and Subject Guide. And remember, if you need help navigating Hoovers, you just need to ask.
Note: Some features may not be available per academic library subscription.
By Steven Straiton (originally posted to Flickr as Gorilla) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
Do you find yourself scratching your head over whether or not an article is peer-reviewed? The Leatherby Libraries has a solution for that: the Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory. To access Ulrich’s, just follow these steps.
1. From the library homepage, in the bottom center section, Databases (search for articles), use the Search Databases by. . . dropdown menu to select Title.
2. From the Electronic Resources page, use the Choose letter dropdown menu on the left side. Select “U“.
3. Select the word Connect under the title Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory. You may be asked to login with your username and password.
Now that you have located Ulrich’s, using the database is simple. Just type in the name of the journal the article was published in and click on the Search button (it looks like a magnifying glass). When you view the results, you can see if a journal is peer-reviewed (refereed). As always, if you need some help sorting it out, contact your Brandman staff. We’re here to help!
Brandman University Library Services and Resources 