Meet Jessica Bower, Coordinator of Interlibrary Loan

Jessica is holding The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien

Jessica is holding The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien

Hello! My name is Jessica Bower and I am an Assistant Librarian and the Coordinator of the Interlibrary Loan department at Chapman University’s Leatherby Libraries. I began working at Chapman University in 2011 as a library assistant in interlibrary loan. After finishing my master’s degree and under the mentorship of the other awesome librarians at Chapman, I was promoted to assistant librarian and given a new title as the Coordinator of Interlibrary loan in early 2014. As the Coordinator of Interlibrary Loan, I oversee the operations of the interlibrary loan department including staff supervision, interlibrary loan operations, and document delivery services to Brandman University patrons and other off-campus groups. As part of my librarian responsibilities, I serve as the liaison librarian to the Argyros School of Business and Economics at Chapman University. In addition to being a full time librarian, I also teach a blended section of LBSU 302 at the Brandman University Irvine Campus.

I received my master’s degree in library and information science from Wayne State University in 2013. I also hold a bachelor’s degree in history from Cal Poly Pomona and I am currently enrolled in the masters of Organizational Leadership program at Brandman University. Some of my academic interests include the history of the American West, the history of California, and the history of the Mayan codices. In addition, I am also interested in topics related to interlibrary loan and document delivery library services, and organizational leadership in libraries.

It was hard to choose a favorite book for my photo, but ultimately I choose J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Fellowship of the Ring as one of my many favorites. I read this book as well as the others in the Lord of the Rings series shortly after the first movie came out. I was so blown away by Peter Jackson’s film I couldn’t wait to know the rest of the story. I remember reading all three books in a matter of days. Some of the other books I was considering were Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling (which I love because it gives so much backstory on the Harry Potter series), Black Beauty by Anna Sewell (a childhood favorite of mine), 1984 by George Orwell (a classic), or Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami (one of my favorite authors). It is so hard to choose just one favorite!


Leave a comment