Great News! The “Check for Full Text” Link is Working!

American Curl cat (3091356453)
By Nickolas Titkov from Moscow, Russian Federation (ACL Pointocurl Fiorentina) [CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

We have great news! The “Check for Full Text” link is working, so you should have access to all of the wonderful articles that we subscribe to. When you use the “Check for Full Text” link for the first time after the outage, you may need to clear your cache and cookies. After that, it will be business as usual.

If you continue to have problems, please reach out to your Brandman librarians. We are here to help.

Database Alert: “Check for Full Text” Link Inoperable

SadCat1
By Dimitri Torterat (Diti) for original photo Túrelio for derivative (using roflbot) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Your Brandman librarians are sad to tell you that we are experiencing a temporary glitch with the “Check for Full Text” button in our databases. Currently, it is linking to Simon Fraser University instead of our own library. Don’t despair. We do have a workaround. Here’s what you need to do.

1. Check your search results for the “Check for Full Text” option.
zombie-result

2. Next, check the details for the journal that the article appears in.
zombie-journal

3. Once you have the name of the journal, go to the Leatherby Libraries homepage and type the name of the journal in the Journal Finder search box and click on “Search.”
journal-finder-page

4. In the Journal Finder results for your article, click on the title of the database that covers the time when your article was published.
journal finder results

Once you have accessed the journal, you can search by the title of your article or by the volume and issue it appears in. Remember, your Brandman librarians are here to help your through the process if you hit any snags.

We’ll keep you posted when we have more news about when this issue will be resolved. Until then, be sure to reach out.

EndNote Direct Export Not Working

EndNote logo

Currently, the direct export feature of EndNote is not working. We have reported the issue, but do not have an estimated time-frame for repair. We will keep you posted as we hear any updates. Until then, make sure to save your sources and ask a librarian if you need any assistance.

The Empir(ical) Article Strikes Back

Death Star crew
By Michael Neel from Knoxville, TN, USA (Star Wars) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

We all love Star Wars. Although your Brandman librarians would definitely side with the rebel alliance, we know that the empire has its place, too.

As college writers and researchers, you have probable been asked to use empirical articles to support your work. Sometimes, that can be frustrating. Before you go full Vader on the library, let us Yoda your way through knowing what an empirical article is and how to search for one. We have created a simple tutorial–Empirical Articles: What You Need To Know.

Empirical Articles

Empirical Articles Video Tutorial

Once you know how to recognize an empirical article, you will no longer be haunted by, “Do or do not. There is no try.” As always, if you are unsure, ask your Brandman librarians. May the force be with you.

Video Streaming: Does the Leatherby Libraries Offer It?

two cats watching television
By BalajiT (Own work) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

We have many students ask if the Leatherby Libraries offers streaming videos. Well, the answer is yes. However, don’t expect to be able to watch popular films. The databases that offer streaming video are very specialized and academic. For example, Counseling and Therapy in Video offers access to therapy sessions, lectures, and discussions of theories. Another database with streaming video is Ackland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy, which offers direct video recordings of real human anatomic specimens for students who don’t have access to dissection facilities.

For a complete list of databases that offer specialized streaming video, check out listing of Electronic Resources or contact one of your Brandman librarians.

Company Information? No Problem with Mergent Online

Director Petraeus rings opening bell at NY Stock Exchange
By The Central Intelligence Agency [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Do you need company information? Try Mergent Online.

mergent

Mergent Online provides United States public and international company data, including histories, competitors, executive biographies, recent and historic news, financials spanning up to 15 years (e.g. balance sheets, income statements, profitability ratios, etc.), and more. There is an option to create customized company reports and convert to PDF, Word, Excel, or HTML. International industry reports by region. Statistical country data and country maps. Access 10,000 active and 5,000 inactive U.S. public companies and 17,000 active international companies.

Company details include synopsis, highlights, history, subsidiaries, capital stock, business segments, executives, company financials, filings, news, and competitors.

You can connect to Mergent Online from the Business & Economics Guide Databases tab. If you need assistance accessing this great database, ask a librarian.

Does the Library Offer Streaming Video?

two cats watching television
By BalajiT (Own work) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

We have many students ask if the Leatherby Libraries offers streaming videos. Well, the answer is yes. However, don’t expect to be able to watch popular films. The databases that offer streaming video are very specialized and academic. For example, Counseling and Therapy in Video offers access to therapy sessions, lectures, and discussions of theories. Another database with streaming video is Ackland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy, which offers direct video recordings of real human anatomic specimens for students who don’t have access to dissection facilities.

For a complete list of databases that offer specialized streaming video, check out listing of Electronic Resources or contact one of your Brandman librarians.

Discover Saves the Day!

cat looking at computer screen
By Diego Grez (Own work Transferred from en.wikinews) [CC BY-SA 2.5 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Huzzah! You made it through the second week of this term. Now, it’s already time to think about the Signature Assignment. Perhaps, you are writing a paper on a literary topic and need to search for literary criticism. Perhaps, you are required to use at least 5 recent sources. Perhaps, the references must come from peer reviewed journals. So you might be asking yourself, “How do I start my research?”

Finding Articles

Finding Articles Video Tutorial

Not to worry. Discover! search has come to rescue! The Discover! search platform is a single interface to locate books, articles, and more on your topic since it cross-searches the library’s catalog as well as the majority of the library’s online databases (for articles). You can limit your results by material type for peer-reviewed journal articles, by a specific publication date range, and more! Watch the video to learn how to use the Discover! search as a starting point for locating research articles.

Mergent Online: Your Guide to Company Informaiton

Director Petraeus rings opening bell at NY Stock Exchange
By The Central Intelligence Agency [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Do you need company information? Try Mergent Online.

mergent

Mergent Online provides United States public and international company data, including histories, competitors, executive biographies, recent and historic news, financials spanning up to 15 years (e.g. balance sheets, income statements, profitability ratios, etc.), and more. There is an option to create customized company reports and convert to PDF, Word, Excel, or HTML. International industry reports by region. Statistical country data and country maps. Access 10,000 active and 5,000 inactive U.S. public companies and 17,000 active international companies.

Company details include synopsis, highlights, history, subsidiaries, capital stock, business segments, executives, company financials, filings, news, and competitors.

You can connect to Mergent Online from the Business & Economics Guide Databases tab. If you need assistance accessing this great database, ask a librarian.